Kakao Chocolate – Extra Dark 72% Chocolate Bark with Organic Candied Ginger

Kakao Chocolate is a must visit chocolaterie and cafe if you are ever in St. Louis. If not, check out their website for a sampling of their tasty chocolates and other treats. I was very excited to visit for the first time and get my hands on some of their yummy bark. Since I have a penchant for dark chocolate, but am still trying to understand the flavors in pure chocolate, I chose the simplest chocolate bark –  a 72% dark blend of three types of chocolate (which I am not sure is top secret or not, so perhaps I’ll keep that info to myself) and has a sprinkling of candied ginger pieces.

The chocolate itself has a warm chocolatey aroma with subtle fruity smells. It melts smoothly and at first has that slight bitterness we expect from dark chocolate. It mellows as it continues to melt and has maybe raspberry undertones.

It has a slight different experience when eaten together with a piece of candied ginger. The bittery spice of the ginger is not too overpowering, but does mask any bitterness in the chocolate, leaving a pleasant sensation in your mouth. I have decided I need to learn how to make candied ginger… it is so delicious! I think I would actually pick off all the pieces and eat them plain if the texture of them with the chocolate didn’t play off eachother so nicely!

Published in: on January 18, 2010 at 11:54 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatequest.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/kakao-chocolate-extra-dark-72-chocolate-bark-with-organic-candied-ginger/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

