Ghirardelli Twilight Delight

My sister came to visit me this week, and, knowing my love for chocolate, brought me a new bar. The Ghirardelli Twilight Delight is 72% Cacao, part of their Intense Dark collection.

It has a soft, fruity aroma, like raspberries. The flavor also has fruit accents. You can taste more berry and citrus flavors. It has a warm, creamy finish that has a hint of roasted coffee.

The bar had tasting notes on the back of the package, and I was happy to see that what I can taste corresponds somewhat to what it describes. They say the bar has “mocha, blackberry and dark cherry notes througout.” Yay, I’m getting better at this! 🙂

Published in: on March 8, 2009 at 5:14 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chocolatequest.wordpress.com/2009/03/08/ghirardelli-twilight-delight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am just beginning to associate myself with the joys of dark chocolate.

    So far Twilight Dark is my favorite. Im cant articulate the exact tastes but, this one seems to subtly evolve and change as it melts. I am using it as my yard stick to compare others with currently.

    (only others ive tried)
    Ghiradelli 60% is very sweet, it is a good dark chocolate for milk chocolate lovers.
    Ghiradelli 86% is my second favorite. Im sure it is a bit dark for most, but its wonderful in small doses.
    Green and Black was just horrible…. it was bitter to the point of tasting rotten. After two squares it went in the trash (it was a 70ish%)
    Russel Stover 60% (sugar free) is gritty and way too sweet. On the plus side it has a wonderful almond undertone to and an intense aroma.

    Any chocolates you would recommend to me?

    • Awesome! Yes, I agree about the Green and Black’s.. I did not like that at all. If you like the Twilight Dark, does that mean you like chocolate with fruity undertones? if so, give the Scharffen Berger 70% a try. Also, I’ve found the Chocolove family to be delicious. Start with the 65%, though the 77% is also quite tasty.. check out my posts on those 🙂


Leave a Reply

